Receive a Copy of Your Iowa Bankruptcy Records
By Email Within 1 Hour During Business Hours

Iowa Bankruptcy Court Details

Iowa is divided into two bankruptcy court districts: The Iowa Northern District and Iowa Southern District. Below you can find details on the case dates each district has made available and which areas are served by the districts.

Case Availability

Bankruptcy Districts
Most Recent
Northern District01/02/1992Present
Southern District1/02/1990Present

All cases filed in and before 2003 have been moved to the national archive to protect debtors’ social security numbers. Please use the archived records order form if you need a case from those years.

Iowa Northern District

This district has four divisions: The Central Division and Western Division cases are filed in the Sioux City office. Cedar Rapids Division and Eastern Division cases are filed in the Cedar Rapid office. The Central Division services Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cerro Gordo, Emmet, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Humboldt, Kossuth, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Webster, Winnebago, Worth, Wright counties. The Western Division services Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Ida, Lyon, Monona, O’Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, Sac, Sioux, Woodbury counties. The Cedar Rapid Division services Benton, Cedar, Grundy, Hardin, Iowa, Jones, Linn, and Tama counties. The Eastern Division services Allmakee, Blackhawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Chicasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Jackson, Mitchell, and Winneshiek counties.

Iowa Southern District

This district has three divisions: Central, Eastern, and Western with offices in Council Bluffs, Des Moines, and Davenport, respectively. The Council Bluffs office services Audobon, Fremount, Gass, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, and Shelby counties. The Davenport office services Clinton, Des Moines, Henry, Johnson, Lee, Louisa, Louisa, Muscatine, Scott, Van Buren, and Washington counties. The Des Moines office services Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Boone, Clarke, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Green, Guthrie, Jasper, Jefferson, Keekuk, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, Polk, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Story, Taylor, Union, Wapello, Warren, and Wayne counties.